Skip to main content

Playoff quirk

Posted: 5:40 a.m.

The Bengals play the Jets to open the playoffs in a rematch of a regular-season finale. That was a feat that had happened just nine times since 1990 and not since 2004, but this year there are two other games ticketed in that manner: Dallas-Philadelphia and Green Bay-Arizona.

Here are the nine times:

2004: IND-DEN (Split); 2001: TB-PHI (Philly sweeps); NYJ-OAK (Split); 2000: NO-STL (Split); 1997: NE-MIA (Pats sweep); 1993: DET-GB (Split); LAR-DEN (Raiders sweep); 1992: BUF-HOU (Split); 1991: KC-LAR (Chiefs sweep).

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.