Skip to main content

A.J. Green Nominated for Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award


Bengals wide receiver A.J. Green is one of 32 player nominees for the third annual Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award. The award recognizes players around the league who exemplify outstanding sportsmanship on the field.

The award was created in 2014 in honor of the late founding owner of the Pittsburgh Steelers and Pro Football Hall of Famer Art Rooney, Sr.

The winner of the NFL Sportsmanship Award is determined by a vote of current NFL players. A panel of former players from the NFL Legends Community will select eight finalists (four in the AFC and four in the NFC) from the 32 nominees. The panel is comprised of Warrick Dunn, Curtis Martin, Karl Mecklenburg and Leonard Wheeler.

The eight finalists will be listed on the Pro Bowl ballot under the NFL Sportsmanship Award category when players vote on Friday, December 16. From the eight finalists, each team's players will submit a consensus vote of their choice for the winner. As in Pro Bowl voting, a team cannot vote for its own player.

The award is presented each year to an NFL player who best demonstrates the qualities of on-field sportsmanship, including fair play, respect for the game and opponents, and integrity in competition.

Last year, the players selected Charles Woodson of the Oakland Raiders as the recipient of the 2015 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award. Larry Fitzgerald of the Arizona Cardinals was the inaugural winner of the award in 2014.

The winner selected by the vote of the players will be announced during the nationally televised NFL Honors show on Saturday, February 4 on FOX, the night before Super Bowl LI. He will receive a $25,000 donation from the NFL Foundation to a charity of his choice. He will also receive a trophy that represents the important role that sportsmanship plays in the game and how NFL players that demonstrate integrity and honor on the field serve as role models for players at all levels.




Arizona Cardinals

DT Calais Campbell

Atlanta Falcons

FB Patrick DiMarco

Baltimore Ravens

G Marshal Yanda

Buffalo Bills

DT Kyle Williams

Carolina Panthers

TE Greg Olsen

Chicago Bears

LB Sam Acho

Cincinnati Bengals

WR A.J. Green

Cleveland Browns

T Joe Thomas

Dallas Cowboys

CB Brandon Carr

Denver Broncos

LB DeMarcus Ware

Detroit Lions

S Glover Quin

Green Bay Packers

LB Julius Peppers

Houston Texans

LB Brian Cushing

Indianapolis Colts

RB Frank Gore

Jacksonville Jaguars

LB Paul Posluszny

Kansas City Chiefs

LB Derrick Johnson

Los Angeles Rams

DE Robert Quinn

Miami Dolphins

T Branden Albert

Minnesota Vikings

CB Terence Newman

New England Patriots

S Devin McCourty

New Orleans Saints

T Zach Strief

New York Giants

WR Victor Cruz

New York Jets

WR Brandon Marshall

Oakland Raiders

QB Derek Carr

Philadelphia Eagles

RB Darren Sproles

Pittsburgh Steelers

LB Arthur Moats

San Diego Chargers

QB Philip Rivers

San Francisco 49ers

T Joe Staley

Seattle Seahawks

WR Tyler Lockett

Tampa Bay Buccaneers

DT Gerald McCoy

Tennessee Titans

QB Marcus Mariota

Washington Redskins

QB Kirk Cousins 

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.