Skip to main content

Roster Moves of 8/30

Here are the Bengals roster moves as they cut to 53 Saturday:

Terminated the contracts of five veterans not subject to waivers, releasing them to free agency: T Willie Anderson; RB Rudi Johnson; TE Nate Lawrie; LB Jim Maxwell; CB Deltha O'Neal.

Waived three third-year players: LB Ahmad Brooks; DE Antwon Burton; S John Busing of Miami.

Waived two second-year players: DE Eric Henderson; QB Jeff Rowe.

Waived two first-year players: G Nate Livings; OT Dane Uperesa.

Waived eight rookies: G James Blair of Western Michigan; DE Angelo Craig of Cincinnati; LB Anthony Hoke of Cincinnati; LB Dan Howell of Washington; RB James Johnson of Kansas State; WR Clyde Logan of Idaho State; WR Maurice Purify of Nebraska; WR Mario Urrutia of Louisville.

Placed one player on the Reserve/Injured list: Rookie TE Matt Sherry of Villanova (shoulder)

Moved fourth-year WR Chris Henry of West Virginia to the Reserve/Suspended by Commissioner list.

PRACTICE SQUAD NOTE: Twelve of the 15 players waived are eligible, if they clear waivers Sunday, to be signed to an NFL practice squad. The three not eligible for practice squad status are Ahmad Brooks, John Busing and Jeff Rowe. The Bengals plan to announce Sunday a practice squad of up to eight players, plus International Practice Squad player Carl-Johan Bjork.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.