Green breaks into NFL top 100

A.J. Green

Bengals wide receiver A.J. Green became the first 2011 rookie to make the NFL Network's list of top 100 players for the 2012 season when he was named the 77th best player in a canvassing of about 400 players in Wednesday night's show.

And indications from Wednesday night's show are that quarterback Andy Dalton is going to join him next week when players 70-61 are revealed, if a sideline shot was a hint.

Green became the first rookie Pro Bowl wide receiver in eight years after the Bengals took him with the fourth pick in the draft. The only Bengal on the list last year was former receiver Terrell Owens at No. 91 after he led the team in receiving with 72 catches for 983 yards and nine touchdowns.

Green responded with 65 catches for 1,057 yards with seven touchdowns in becoming the NFL's first 1,000-yard rookie receiver since Marques Colston in 2006.

During Wednesday night's show, Titans safety Johnathan Babineaux observed, "He reminds me of Michael Irvin. A little cockiness, at the same time he makes plays. "

Teammate Domata Peko simply offered, "Thank God he's on our team."

The list so far:

  1. Chris Johnson – Tennessee Titans, RB
  1. Ryan Kalil – Carolina Panthers, C
  1. Willis McGahee – Denver Broncos, RB
  1. Donald Penn – Tampa Bay Buccaneers, T
  1. D'Qwell Jackson – Cleveland Browns, LB
  1. Tim Tebow – New York Jets, QB
  1. Marshawn Lynch – Seattle Seahawks, RB
  1. Cortland Finnegan – St. Louis Rams, CB
  1. John Kuhn – Green Bay Packers, FB
  1. Tony Romo – Dallas Cowboys, QB
  1. Hakeem Nicks – New York Giants, WR
  1. Dwight Freeney – Indianapolis Colts, DE
  1. Michael Turner – Atlanta Falcons, RB
  1. London Fletcher – Washington Redskins, LB
  1. Darren Sproles – New Orleans Saints, RB
  1. NaVorro Bowman – San Francisco 49ers, LB
  1. Chris Long – St. Louis Rams, DE
  1. Fred Jackson – Buffalo Bills, RB
  1. Joe Thomas – Cleveland Browns, T
  1. Vince Wilfork – New England Patriots, DT
  1. Jordy Nelson – Green Bay Packers, WR
  1. Nnamdi Asomugha – Philadelphia Eagles, CB
  1. Derrick Johnson – Kansas City Chiefs, LB


  1. Carl Nicks – Tampa Bay Buccaneers, OG
  1. Jason Witten – Dallas Cowboys, TE
  1. Joe Flacco – Baltimore Ravens, QB
  1. Johnathan Joseph – Houston Texans, CB
  1. Lance Briggs – Chicago Bears, LB
  1. DeSean Jackson – Philadelphia Eagles, WR
This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.