Skip to main content

Nate Moore, 2014 La Salle Coach wins Paul Brown Coaching Award


Nate Moore, who last year led Cincinnati's La Salle High School to the Ohio Division II state championship, today is named as the 2014 season winner of the Paul Brown Excellence in Coaching Award.

The award has been given annually by the Bengals since 2002. It honors outstanding high school football coaches in the region and  includes a $5000 Bengals donation to La Salle's athletic department.

            Moore is now head coach and athletic director at Massillon (Ohio) High, having resigned his La Salle post this past January.

Moore led La Salle to a 14-1 record last season, including a 5-0 state playoffs mark. The Lancers defeated Nordonia 55-20 for the state title, posting the largest winning margin in a Division II championship game.
A Greater Cincinnati native (Mason High School), Moore played in college at the University of Dayton. Prior to coming to La Salle in 2013, he coached at Minster, Hamilton and Chaminade-Julienne.

            Moore is the 14th winner of the Paul Brown Excellence in Coaching Award. Previous winners have been Tim Goodwin of Marion (Ohio) Local (2013 season), Tom Crosby of Mariemont (2012), Bruce Kozerski of Holy Cross (2011), Steve Klonne of Moeller (2010), Troy Everhart of Winton Woods (2009), Dale Mueller of Highlands (2008), Jeff Giesting of Anderson (2007), Scott Datillo of Sycamore (2006), Steve Specht of St. Xavier (2005), Charles "Doc" Gamble of Withrow (2004), Doug Ramsey of Elder (2003), and Vince Suriano of Anderson and Mike Martin of Taft (2002 co-winners).

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.