Kozerski tapped for Paul Brown Award

Holy Cross head coach Bruce Kozerski, center, holds the championship trophy after defeating Glasgow in the KHSAA Class 2A Commonwealth Gridiron Bowl championship high school football game.

Former offensive lineman Bruce Kozerski became the second Bengal to win the Paul Brown Excellence in Coaching Award Tuesday in the wake of his Holy Cross High School team winning the Kentucky Class 2A championship with a 12-3 record last fall.

Bengals president Mike Brown is to present Kozerski with a $5,000 donation to the athletic department of the Covington, Ky., school at Tuesday's training camp media luncheon at Paul Brown Stadium.

It was at this luncheon 16 years ago that Kozerski announced his retirement after 12 seasons on the Bengals offensive line that included his stints at center on the 1988 AFC champs and 1990 AFC Central Division champs.

"It's gratifying to bestow this award on Bruce and his school, because he was a standout Bengal both on and off the field during his years with us," Brown said in a press release. "And we know that besides now being a state championship coach, he is a respected teacher who emphasizes growth and integrity by the students in all areas."

Kozerski's teaching load at Holy Cross includes Algebra, Honors Geometry, Pre-Calculus, Honors Calculus and Physics. He has spearheaded social service activities, including taking 40 students on an 18-hour bus trip to New Orleans to assist with clean-up after Hurricane Katrina.

Last year's state title run capped Kozerski's eighth season as head coach and only the 14th in the school's history.

Kozerski, who was a ninth-round pick out of Holy Cross College in 1984, joins former wide receiver Mike Martin as the other Bengal to win the award named after the Bengals founder, coach and general manager. Martin won it in 2002 at Cincinnati's Taft High School and shared it with Anderson High School's Vince Suriano.

Kozerski and wife Beth have three children, Matthew (24), Adam (18) and Amy (17).

Other previous winners of the P.B. award are Steve Klonne of McNicholas (2010), Troy Everhart of Winton Woods (2009), Dale Mueller of Highlands (2008), Jeff Giesting of Anderson (2007), Scott Datillo of Sycamore (2006), Steve Specht of St. Xavier (2005), Charles "Doc" Gamble of Withrow (2004), and Doug Ramsey of Elder (2003).

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.