Bengals News

Presented by

Former Bengal Dixon Selected To The College Football Hall of Fame

Bengals defensive back Rickey Dixon goes for a tackle against San Francisco 49ers running back Roger Craig (33) during Super Bowl XXIII on January 22, 1989 at Joe Robbie Stadium in Miami, Fla. (Al Messerschmidt via AP)

Former Bengals defensive back Rickey Dixon was among a class of 15 elected to the College Football Hall of Fame on Monday.

Dixon was drafted by the Bengals with the No. 5 overall draft pick in 1988 and spent six seasons in the NFL, five with the Bengals and one with the Los Angeles Raiders. In 73 games with the Bengals Dixon made 32 starts and intercepted six passes.

Dixon, a member of the Oklahoma Sooners 1985 national championship team, was an All-American in 1987 and won the Jim Thorpe Award as the nation's top defensive back. He finished his college career second in OU history with 17 career interceptions and 170 tackles.

Here is the full 20109 College Football Hall of Fame Class

  • Terrell Buckley, DB, Florida State (1989-91)
  • Rickey Dixon, DB, Oklahoma (1984-87)
  • London Fletcher, LB, John Carroll (1995-97)
  • Jacob Green, DL, Texas A&M (1977-79)
  • Torry Holt, WR, NC State (1995-98)
  • Raghib Ismail, WR, Notre Dame (1988-90)
  • Darren McFadden, RB, Arkansas (2005-07)
  • Jake Plummer, QB, Arizona State (1993-96)
  • Troy Polamalu, DB, USC (1999-02)
  • Joe Thomas, OL, Wisconsin (2003-06)
  • Lorenzo White, RB, Michigan State (1984-87)
  • Patrick Willis, LB, Ole Miss (2004-06)
  • Vince Young, QB, Texas (2003-05)
  • Dennis Erickson, Coach - Miami Florida, Idaho, Oregon State, Arizona State
  • Joe Taylor, Coach - Howard, Virginia Union, Hampton and Florida A&M

All 15 members of the class will be inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame during a ceremony in New York City on Dec. 10.

Related Content