PFWA Names Boyd As Bengals' MVP; Dalton As Team's Good Guy For 2019

190112-Boyd-Tyler_touchdown_celebration (AP)
Cincinnati Bengals wide receiver Tyler Boyd (83) gestures after scoring a touchdown against the New York Jets.

The Cincinnati Chapter of the Pro Football Writers of America today named WR Tyler Boyd as the Bengals' 2019 Most Valuable Player and QB Andy Dalton as the recipient of the organization's annual "Good Guy" award.

This marks the first MVP for Boyd, in his fourth season out of Pittsburgh. Boyd finished off back-to-back seasons crossing the 1,000-yard mark and served as the primary weapon for a passing game which performed much of the season without injured fellow receivers A.J. Green (missed entire season), John Ross (missed eight games) and Auden Tate (missed three games). Boyd led the Bengals in receptions (90), receiving yards (1046) and touchdown catches (five). His reception total tied for sixth in the AFC and tied for 11th in the NFL, and his 22 third-down catches tied for seventh in the AFC and 15th in the NFL.

"This was the closest vote in recent history of the MVP award, and Boyd narrowly edged out Joe Mixon," said chapter president Paul Dehner Jr. of The Athletic. "His consistency in making plays throughout the entire season, despite all the obstacles against him in the passing game, gave him the slight edge despite both players having outstanding seasons."

Other past MVP winners have been QB Jon Kitna (2002-03), HB Rudi Johnson ('04), QB Carson Palmer ('05), OT Willie Anderson ('06), WR T.J. Houshmandzadeh ('07-08), CBs Leon Hall and Johnathan Joseph ('09), OT Andrew Whitworth ('10), QB Andy Dalton ('11 and '15), DT Geno Atkins ('12 and '17), LB Vontaze Burfict ('13), HB Jeremy Hill ('14), WR A.J. Green ('16) and HB Mixon ('18).

Dalton, in his ninth season, is the 19th recipient of the PFWA's "Good Guy" award, given for professionalism and cooperation with media and understanding the media's role in covering the team.

"It's almost embarrassing Dalton had never won the award before," Dehner Jr. said. "You almost take for granted his genuine respect and accessibility since he's been doing it for so long, never refusing an interview or media request. For all the adversity and controversy he went through this year, he was always there and as open and thoughtful as possible."

Past "Good Guy" winners have been FB Lorenzo Neal (2001), OT Willie Anderson ('02), HB Brandon Bennett ('03), LB Brian Simmons ('04), DT John Thornton ('05), WR T.J. Houshmandzadeh ('06), DT Bryan Robinson ('07), G Bobbie Williams ('08), QB Carson Palmer ('09), HB Cedric Benson ('10), S Chris Crocker ('11), OT Andrew Whitworth ('12 and '15), DT Domata Peko ('13), DT Devon Still ('14), CB Dre Kirkpatrick ('16), DE Carlos Dunlap ('17) and LB Vincent Rey ('18).

Related Content