Ja'Marr Chase Nominated For The Pepsi Zero Sugar Rookie Of The Year

210912-Chase-Ja'Marr_touchdown_celebration (AP)
Cincinnati Bengals wide receiver Ja'Marr Chase (1) catches his first career touchdown during an NFL football game against the Minnesota Vikings Sunday, Sept. 12, 2021, in Cincinnati. (AP Photo/Jeff Dean)

Bengals wide receiver Ja'Marr Chase is one of six nominees for the 2021 Pepsi Zero Sugar Rookie of the Year award.

Chase won the Pepsi Zero Sugar Rookie of the Week award five times, the most by any first-year player this season.


Chase led all rookies and ranked fourth in the NFL with 1,455 receiving yards, the most by a rookie in the Super Bowl era, while his 13 touchdown receptions were the third-most in the league this season. In Week 17, he recorded 266 receiving yards, the most ever by a rookie in a single game.

He also recorded 201 receiving yards in Week 7 and became the first rookie ever and the fifth player in the Super Bowl era to record multiple games with at least 200 receiving yards in a single season, joining Pro Football Hall of Famers Calvin Johnson (2011 & 2012) and Don Maynard (1968) as well as Josh Gordon (2013) and Alshon Jeffery (2013).

Chase became the fifth rookie in the Super Bowl era with at least 1,000 receiving yards and 10 touchdown receptions, joining Pro Football Hall of Famer Randy Moss (1998), Odell Beckham Jr. (2014), Mike Evans (2014) and John Jefferson (1978).


Through the end of the voting period on Jan. 31, fans will also be able to vote directly on Twitter. To cast such a vote, fans should tweet the first and last name of the player or the player's official Twitter handle. Both of these methods must include the hashtag: #PepsiROY. Voting via Twitter is in addition to the online ballot at NFL.com/voting/rookies/rookie-of-the-year, which will be available throughout the entire voting period.


Chase is joined by Pittsburgh Steelers running back Najee Harris, New England Patriots quarterback Mac Jones, Dallas Cowboys linebacker Micah Parsons, Atlanta Falcons tight end Kyle Pitts and Miami Dolphins wide receiver Jaylen Waddle as nominees.

The six finalists were selected for their outstanding performances through the 2021 NFL season. Each week, six nominees were chosen for the Pepsi Zero Sugar NFL Rookie of the Week and fans voted for the winner on NFL.com. Those results were used to help determine the finalists.

The 2021 2021 Pepsi Zero Sugar Rookie of the Year award winner will be recognized in Los Angeles and presented with a specially designed, Pepsi Zero Sugar-themed trophy during Super Bowl LVI festivities.