PFWA Names Joe Burrow As Bengals' MVP, C.J. Uzomah As Media Cooperation Winner For 2021

211024-Uzomah-CJ_Burrow-Joe_congratulations (AP)
Cincinnati Bengals tight end C.J. Uzomah (87) and quarterback Joe Burrow (9) react after they connected for a touchdown pass during the second half of an NFL football game, Sunday, Oct. 24, 2021, in Baltimore. (AP Photo/Gail Burton)

The Cincinnati Chapter of the Pro Football Writers of America today named QB Joe Burrow as the Bengals' 2021 Most Valuable Player and TE C.J. Uzomah as the recipient of the organization's annual Media Cooperation award.

This marks the first MVP for Burrow, in his second season out of LSU. Burrow finished as the top-graded quarterback in the AFC, according to Pro Football Focus, and led the NFL in yards per attempt and completion percentage while setting a franchise record for passing yards and touchdowns.

The vote was unanimous.

"Picking Burrow might be the easiest decision in the history of this award," chapter president Paul Dehner Jr. said. "Beyond the gaudy stats, his comeback from the knee injury and leadership off the field made him the complete package in living up to the substantial hype as a franchise game-changer."

Other past MVP winners have been QB Jon Kitna (2002-03), HB Rudi Johnson ('04), QB Carson Palmer ('05), OT Willie Anderson ('06), WR T.J. Houshmandzadeh ('07-08), CBs Leon Hall and Johnathan Joseph ('09), OT Andrew Whitworth ('10), QB Andy Dalton ('11 and '15), DT Geno Atkins ('12 and '17), LB Vontaze Burfict ('13), HB Jeremy Hill ('14), WR A.J. Green ('16), HB Joe Mixon ('18), WR Tyler Boyd ('19) and S Jessie Bates ('20).

Uzomah, in his seventh season, is the 21st recipient of the PFWA's Media Cooperation award (formerly known as "Good Guy"), given for professionalism and respect working with media and understanding the media's role in covering the team.

"Not only did Uzomah have as much fun as anyone in his conversations with us, but he was always accessible, forthright and genuine," Dehner Jr. said. "He's long overdue for the honor as somebody who has been respectful and a pleasure to deal with his entire career."

Past Media Cooperation winners have been FB Lorenzo Neal (2001), OT Willie Anderson ('02), HB Brandon Bennett ('03), LB Brian Simmons ('04), DT John Thornton ('05), WR T.J. Houshmandzadeh ('06), DT Bryan Robinson ('07), G Bobbie Williams ('08), QB Carson Palmer ('09), HB Cedric Benson ('10), S Chris Crocker ('11), OT Andrew Whitworth ('12 and '15), DT Domata Peko ('13), DT Devon Still ('14), CB Dre Kirkpatrick ('16), DE Carlos Dunlap ('17), LB Vincent Rey ('18), QB Andy Dalton ('19) and HB Giovani Bernard ('20).