Andrew Brown, Russell Signed to Practice Squad

KeiVarae Russell
Cincinnati Bengals cornerback KeiVarae Russell (20) celebrates after catching an interception in the second half of an NFL preseason football game against the Chicago Bears, Thursday, Aug. 9, 2018, in Cincinnati. (AP Photo/Gary Landers)

The Bengals brought back two cornerbacks when they formed their practice squad Sunday after KeiVarae Russell and C.J. Goodwin cleared waivers. They also were able to sign up one of the two draft picks they cut in fifth-round defensive tackle Andrew Brown, as well as one of their more impressive rookies in undrafted linebacker Chris Worley.

One glaring omission is seventh-round quarterback Logan Woodside because that leaves the Bengals with just two quarterbacks in Andy Dalton and Jeff Driskel. But since the Bengals have one open spot on their 11-man practice squad, they could be looking to add another quarterback.

Another notable absence is running back Brian Hill, one of their best training camp players. He may have decided to move on with four backs in front of him on the 53-man roster. The practice squad back turned out to be undrafted rookie Quinton Flowers, the former South Florida quarterback.

The Bengals also found Sunday that two players they waived injured Saturday cleared and revert to the season-ending injured reserve list. But they could reach injury settlements with veteran safety-cornerback Josh Shaw (groin) and rookie defensive tackle Chris Okoye later in the month and re-sign them.  

Here's the practice squad list with one spot open:

--TE Moritz Böhringer (first-year player, Aalen, Germany)

--DT Andrew Brown (rookie, Virginia)

--HB Quinton Flowers (rookie, South Florida)

--H-B Jordan Franks (rookie, Central Florida)

--CB C.J. Goodwin (third-player, California [Pa.])

--C Brad Lundblade (rookie, Oklahoma State)

--OT Kent Perkins (first-year player, Texas)

--CB KeiVarae Russell (third-year player, Notre Dame)

--WR Kermit Whitfield (first-year player, Florida State)

--LB Chris Worley (rookie, Ohio State)