For the first time since 1992, the Bengals sold out all games before the season began, and a waiting list was established for new season ticket buyers. The regular-season attendance mark was 527,870, for an average of 65,984, and both the total and the averages stand through 2017 as club records. Also prior to the season, it was also announced that head coach Marvin Lewis had signed a contract extension through 2010. Lewis completed his fourth season by joining Paul Brown as the only Bengals head coaches to go four straight seasons without a losing record, but though the team remained in contention until the final weekend, it missed the '06 playoffs with an 8-8 mark. The Bengals lost their last three games after standing 8-5. A win in either of the two final games could have secured a playoff berth, but Cincinnati lost 24-23 in Game 15 at Denver when an errant PAT snap foiled a chance to force overtime, and the Bengals lost the season finale in overtime vs. Pittsburgh, after record-setting K Shayne Graham missed a 39-yard FG try on the final play of regulation. QB Carson Palmer, sidelined with a major knee injury in the 2005 postseason, made good on his bid to play the full 2006 regular season, starting every game. He set a club record to that point with 4035 passing yards, and he boldfaced his status as the cornerstone of the roster by winning the Most Valuable Player Award in the Pro Bowl on Feb. 10, 2007. He stands through 2017 as the only Bengal to win the award. The season was a particularly notable one for flamboyant WR Chad Johnson. In March, NFL owners voted to clamp down on player end-zone celebrations, an art that Johnson had been increasingly expanding in production value. In April, Johnson was signed to a contract extension through 2011. He was featured on a Sports Illustrated cover in October, and for the season he became the only Bengal (through 2017) to lead the NFL in receiving yards, with 1369. Johnson set a still-standing Bengals record for receiving yards in a game, with 260 on Nov. 12 vs. San Diego, and with 190 the next week at New Orleans, he set an NFL record at the time for receiving yards in consecutive games (450). Also in '06, Johnson became the only player to lead the AFC or NFC in receiving yards for a fourth consecutive season. No other player has done it since (through 2017). In February, federal judge S. Arthur Spiegel dismissed a Hamilton County lawsuit against the Bengals regarding the Paul Brown Stadium lease, ending two years of legal disputes. In March, the Bengals and Buffalo Bills were the only NFL teams to vote against a new Collective Bargaining Agreement with the players, deeming it unsound, and as time would pass, numerous owners and analysts would in hindsight praise the Cincinnati-Buffalo stance. The 2006 agreement, in some views, ultimately led to the conditions that caused a lockout of players from March through July of 2011. The Bengals in '06 were among a number of teams responding to concerns about rowdy fan behavior at NFL games. The club installed and staffed a "Jerk Line" that fans could call during games to report problems. LB David Pollack, Cincinnati's top draft choice in 2005, suffered what would prove to be a career-ending neck fracture in the home opener vs. Cleveland. Pollack was never paralyzed and made a full recovery, but after some consideration of a comeback, he ultimately decided against it and moved into a successful career as a sports broadcaster.

061231-BengalsAP_061231023815-David Kohl-NEW

League Rankings

Table inside Article
OFFENSE 8 (341.4) 26 (101.8) 6 (239.6)
DEFENSE 30 (355.1) 15 (116.4) T-31 (238.6)
061224-Bengals_Broncos-AP_06122409094-David Zalubowski-NEW

Year Totals

Table inside Article
OFFENSE 994 313 1629 3833 5462 373
DEFENSE 1038 337 1863 3818 5681 331

Individual Leaders

Table inside Article
Shayne Graham Scoring
Carson Palmer Passing
Rudi Johnson Rushing
T.J. Houshmandzadeh Receptions
Chad Johnson Receiving Yards
Kyle Larson Punting
Keiwan Ratliff Punt Returns
Chris Perry Kickoff Returns
Shayne Graham Field Goals
Kevin Kaesviharn Interceptions
Robert Geathers Sacks
061126-Bengals_Browns-AP_061126017633-Ron Schwane-NEW

Coaching Staff

Table inside Article
Marvin Lewis Head Coach
Paul Alexander Assistant Head Coach/ Offensive Line
Jim Anderson Running Backs
Bob Bratkowski Offensive Coordinator
Chuck Bresnahan Defensive Coordinator
Louie Cioffi Assistant Defensive Backs
Kevin Coyle Defensive Backs
Paul Guenther Assistant Special Teams / Assistant Linebackers
Jay Hayes Defensive Line
Jonathan Hayes Tight Ends
Ricky Hunley Linebackers
Hue Jackson Wide Receivers
Chip Morton Strength and Conditioning
Ray Oliver Assistant Strength and Conditioning
Darrin Simmons Special Teams
Bob Surace Assistant Offensive Line
Ken Zampese Quarterbacks

2006 NFL Draft: April 29 - 30

Table inside Article
1 Johnathan Joseph CB South Carolina 24
2 Andrew Whitworth OL Louisiana State 55
3 Frostee Rucker DE Southern California 91
4 Domata Peko DT Michigan State 123
5 A.J. Nicholson LB Florida State 157
6 Reggie McNeal WR Texas A&M 193
7a Ethan Kilmer S Penn State *209
7b Bennie Brazell WR Louisiana State 231
3-s Ahmad Brooks LB Virginia *----

*NOTE: The Bengals received the No. 209 overall pick from Houston as compensation for the Texans signing restricted free agent WR Kevin Walter (Bengals did not exercise right of first refusal for Texans offer sheet signed on 3-18-06). The Bengals selected LB Ahmad Brooks in the third round of the 2006 NFL Supplemental Draft, thus surrendering their '07 third-round pick in the common draft.

061015-Bengals_Panthers-AP_061022015863-Tom Uhlman-NEW

Pro Bowl

Players selected for the 2006 Pro Bowl: OT Willie Anderson, WR Chad Johnson, QB Carson Palmer (Pro Bowl Player of the Game)

061105-Bengals_Ravens-AP_061105018677-Chris Gardner-NEW